Why Brand Matters When Buying Auto Parts

Jeff Franczak
3 min readJul 19, 2023

--

When under the bonnet there arose such a clatter,

I sprang from the cockpit to see what was the matter.¹

I exaggerate slightly, but those few seconds of engine knock and vibration on the cold startup of my ’02 Mustang GT caused this gearhead’s heart to skip a beat along with the exclamation, “That’s not good.”

And then the problem went away and didn’t return. Until the next time I started it cold and the same thing happened. A few hours of Google research later I found various people recommending “try replacing your oil filter”.

What? How could it be that simple? Why? And that’s when I learned that oil filters contain something called an anti-drainback valve. And apparently different brands of oil filters do not have the same valve quality and effectiveness.

Filters mounted such that oil tends to drain from them usually incorporate an anti-drainback valve to hold oil in the filter after the engine (or other lubrication system) is shut down. This is done to avoid a delay in oil pressure buildup once the system is restarted; without an anti-drainback valve, pressurized oil would have to fill the filter before travelling onward to the engine’s working parts. [Causing what is sometimes referred to as a “dry start”.] This situation can cause premature wear of moving parts due to initial lack of oil.²

Yep, my problem seems to be originating from the top end of the engine in the area of cylinders 7 and 8 which is the furthest distance from the oil pump.

Curious, I open up the PDF of my Mustang Owner’s Manual and search for “knock”. Should have done that first. Well, what do you know!

If a replacement oil filter is used that does not meet Ford material and design specifications, start-up engine noises or knock may be experienced.³

My last oil change used a less expensive private label oil filter from a well-known chain auto parts store.

Drove to a nearby “quick oil change” shop and had the oil changed with Valvoline oil and a Valvoline filter. It’s been over month now and the problem hasn’t reoccurred.

Admittedly, some might consider my driving situation an edge case — I typically drive this vehicle once a week, which gives a lot of time in between for the oil in the filter to drip past a mediocre anti-drainback valve back into the oil pan. The Valvoline filter seems to reliably handle this situation just fine though. (And I don’t ever remember experiencing this situation in the past 20+ years of oil changes on this vehicle.)

I’ll never know for sure whether the less expensive oil filter was designed with a lower quality valve, or if I was simply unlucky enough to get a “lemon” that got past quality control.

I know for sure, however, that from now on I’ll always use a brand name oil filter, and then listen carefully during those first few cold startups after an oil change.

Brand matters, and this is not an isolated experience. I’ve also had trouble in the past with private label serpentine belts, coolant hoses, and wiper blades.

For belts and hoses, I recommend Gates products, and if they have an upgraded premium/fleet/racing product, don’t hesitate to pay a little extra even if your usage doesn’t fit those categories. You’ll come out way ahead in labor savings of not having to repeat the job later.

If you take you vehicle to someone else for service ask about the brand of the parts they are recommending. In most cases I ask if the part is still available directly from the original manufacturer, e.g., Ford/Motorcraft. If it’s no longer available, then I ask if a premium aftermarket part is available.

Happy motoring!

  1. Inspired by A Visit from St. Nicholas
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oil_filter
  3. https://www.fordservicecontent.com/Ford_Content/catalog/owner_guides/02musog3e.pdf

--

--

Jeff Franczak

Jeff Franczak is a professional Full Stack Software Engineer who transforms ideas into valuable business products using modern technologies.